Put First Things First

18 Feb

This is the fourth week that I am using the Put First Things First worksheet by Covey. All you do is on a Sunday night, during 60 minutes, I review my personal mission statement (which I will probably share with you later), then identify my roles in life (fiance, friend, teacher, student, daughter, world traveller, self-help nut, cat lover, gym-goer, bride, etc.) and number 3 step is to set one or two goals for each role, for that week. Say, for daughter role I put “call Mom” and I actually schedule it. Our relationship with Mom, as many of you know, is a difficult one. And you probably also know that I am notorious for not keeping in touch. For months at a time. This year I promised myself that even if I don’t feel like calling Mom, I will. She lives far and deserves a phone call from me at least once a week. Even if it’s just for 20 minutes.

I also have been consciously allocating time on things that make me happy: reading, catching up with friends, quality time with A., photography, and, my new favorite, reflecting. I would love to try to incorporate being in nature into my week as well. Maybe when it gets warmer.

It has been truly amazing. Talking about what’s important in life! When something goes wrong at work (and it almost always does ;), I turn around and remind myself that I am not just a teacher. I play so many more roles in life that I am VERY successful at. Of course I want things to always be smooth and calm in the classroom but, with teaching, it’s tough.

At the end of the week, when you look at your worksheet and see all the IMPORTANT things that you’ve accomplished, you feel so fulfilled! You really see that you are living your best life – spending time with family, friends, working, studying and doing activities you are passionate about. This worksheet gives your life the necessary balance. I made more than enough copies and I plan on sticking with it for as long as it takes.

2 Responses to “Put First Things First”

  1. Helen B. February 21, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    Daria, I love the First things First worksheet! It helps put things in perspective in my life. Sometimes I get lost worrying about one aspect of my life but this worksheet helps me stay focused and realize the things I do accomplish in other areas. Thank you for introducing me to this concept, I’m really going to try to stick with it. I even passed it on to my sister 🙂

    Like

    • Travel Teacher February 21, 2012 at 2:54 am #

      Helen, it’s funny how we always think that we are not accomplishing anything… After I did the worksheet I thought “wow”, I took care of some pretty important things this week…

      Like

Leave a Reply

