Five (or maybe ten) things to be thankful for today…

31 Jul

 

July 31, 2013. So many things to be thankful for today:

1. Time at the Great Swamp Wildlife Refuge. I love nature, and I am so glad that I am making time to visit parks and reservations this summer. (Note to self – keep it up in the fall).

2. Modern technology that allows us to communicate with speed and accuracy. Thanks for the phone that always works and available. Send an email, call mom, text my hubby – easy.

3. The unconditional love of my husband. Will always be grateful for that. I can be a complete pain in you-know-what yet he has never made me feel unloved.

4. Great Expectations and Bleak House. Mr. Dickens, you are amazing.

5. Motivation to exercise regardless of whether I am happy or sad. Today I err on the sad side but I hit the gym regardless. Proud of myself.

Let’s see if I can now get to 10 things…

6. Water – fresh, cold, and readily available. There is someone in this world that has to walk for miles to get water. I can do what I please with it – drink, bathe, wash dishes. Or wash my yoga mat. Or my sneakers. Or sprinkle a little on my cats if I’m feeling silly.

7. The pool. I think that speaks for itself πŸ™‚

8. Challenges: the Universe is sending challenges my way so that I learn something from them. And they might not be always pleasant, I grow because of them. I always win the prize – even if that “prize” is experience.

9. Meditation – I can feel my mind calm down and stop racing… Thank you, Deepak Chopra. (His meditations are available for download for free on iTunes).

10. My overall health – so many things to be thankful for in this area… I barely wear any makeup in summer but I looked into the mirror today and my skin is glowing, eyes are clear and body feels strong and supple, thanks to all the physical activity I’ve been doing. Will try to keep it up when fall comes.

And here you have it, folks. It was easier than I thought πŸ™‚

Can you come up with five (or more) things you are thankful for today? I’d love to find out πŸ™‚

Image

Leave a Reply

