This morning, I am grateful…

12 Oct

Thank you for a great night sleep. Thank you for the comfortable and warm bed, in a safe house, in a safe town. Thank you for a tasty cup of coffee with creamer. Thank you for this crisp weather that makes me feel so cosy. Thank you for a wonderful book that I can’t put down (except for writing this :).

Thank you for all the weekend activities we have planned: Octoberfest, hiking, library, reading, painting, and decorating for Halloween.

Thank you for the work I do. It keeps me engaged, accomplished, fulfilled, and wealthy. However busy, I enjoy it very much, and am grateful.

Thank you for motivation to continue working on my goals, go to the gym, meditate, be grateful, be a good friend and a caring family member. Thank you for the feeling of self-discipline when motivation is not there. Thank you for the 4am mornings and beautiful things that come out of them. Thank you for keeping me safe, warm, engaged, and healthy. Thank you for keeping me creative, resourceful, accepting, and mindful. Thank you for giving me a purpose.

I send love and light to my loved ones, my friends, my colleagues both at Basking Ridge and Seton Hall, my students, the parents of my students, my neighbors, and everyone whose path I crossed last week, in person or via other channels. May this fall weekend bring you peace, relaxation, and love.

20131012-064935.jpg

14 Responses to “This morning, I am grateful…”

  1. Sophie Cussen October 12, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    What a lovely post – that really made me think. I need to spend more time on gratitude because we all have so much to be grateful for, even when life isn’t easy.

    Like

    • Finer Things in Life October 12, 2013 at 11:23 am #

      Thank you for stopping by, Sophie. So many things we take for granted yet so many thing to be grateful for. Have a great weekend!

      Like

  2. paulettemotzko October 12, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your grateful heart with me and the world!
    You and I would get along really well because though we don’t know eachother YET we derive happiness and gratification from many of the same things.
    I shared this on Totally Inspired Mind at
    http://www.TotallyInspiredPC.wordpress.com

    I will urge my readers to sit down and write what they are thankful for too. In being thankful it opens one’s eyes up to the beauty of the world.

    Paulette Le Pore Motzko

    Like

    • Finer Things in Life October 12, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

      Paulette, your words warm my heart. I am so glad to see that there are people like you out there – that appreciate every little thing life gives them πŸ™‚ Even challenges for challenges are turned into valuable lessons.

      Like

      • paulettemotzko October 12, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

        There you are…the lady who inspired the story I wrote today!
        What is your name?
        How many years have you been blogging?
        What grade(s) do you teach?

        The latest story on Totally Inspired Mind mentions you and your grateful heart.

        Thanks for writing a wonderful story.

        Paulette Le Pore Motzko

        Like

      • Finer Things in Life October 13, 2013 at 11:40 am #

        Good morning,

        My name is Daria, I live in a beautiful small town in New Jersey. I have been blogging for just around two years. I teach middle school World Language and also work as an adjunct at Seton Hall University.

        So glad we could connect! For that I am grateful πŸ™‚

        Like

      • paulettemotzko October 13, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

        Hello Daria,
        Paulette here in CA. I have two good friends who live in NJ, so now I have 3. I would love to travel there one day and visit there but just need the $ to do it.
        I will keep reading your blog and things you write and am so happy I know your name now. Did you read the story I wrote where I mentioned you and your blog?

        I just didnt know your name…but now I do.

        God bless and have a great day!

        Paulette Motzko

        Like

      • Finer Things in Life October 14, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

        Paulette, hello again, and thank you for visiting!

        Yes, I have seen how you kindly shared my post – thank you! Have a wonderful week πŸ™‚

        Like

      • paulettemotzko October 15, 2013 at 7:36 am #

        Yes you as well. Take time out to enjoy and savor the little things. One day you will look back and realize they were the best things. – PLM

        Like

      • paulettemotzko October 13, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

        BTW, what is an adjunct teacher? What do you do at Seton University? PLM

        Like

      • Finer Things in Life October 14, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

        An adjunct professor is pretty much a part time professor that comes maybe a few times a week πŸ™‚

        Like

      • paulettemotzko October 15, 2013 at 12:11 am #

        Thanks for informing me what that meant. What subject(s) do you teach at the U.?

        Like

  3. paulettemotzko October 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    Reblogged this on Totally Inspired Mind-Where Positive Minds Congregate and commented:
    Can you write an I Am Thankful List just as she did on Lavender Reflections? Thankfulness opens your eyes up to the beauty of the world.

    Paulette Le Pore Motzko

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This morning, I am grateful… | Waking The Infinite - October 12, 2013

    […] via This morning, I am grateful…. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

