Making Peace with Sundays

13 Oct

I used to get terrible Sunday blues. I used to dread Sunday nights more than Monday mornings. I used to get extremely depressed and down on myself by the time Sunday afternoon rolled around. I used to dread Sundays even BEFORE they came, like a Saturday night! (I know, I know, ridiculous…)

A few years ago, I have had a shift in my life caused by a very bad breakup, living alone, and being completely self-sufficient, followed by a sense of complete and utter freedom and happiness. Since then, enjoying and appreciating every minute of my life has become one of my life values. The feeling of enjoying as opposed to dissing Sundays has developed and stuck around.

Today, Sundays are my “reflection” and preparation days. Here are some of the things I dedicate myself to on Sundays:

1. Hiking in Watchung Reservation, either alone or with A. Appreciating the beauty of nature, and having a quiet reflection.

2. Planning my week ahead: checking the weather, and calendar, and then putting together five complete, carefully and tastefully planned outfits.

3. Setting goals for the week. Work related, and leisure related both. To make my week more enjoyable, I try not to hibernate during cooler months but go and do something pleasant. For example, a lecture at Seton Hall, a Chinese calligraphy class, an evening service at So Shim Sa, or time with a friend at the local library.

4. Reading my current book. Nothing beats that. A cup of black tea with lemon and honey makes it even better.

5. Blog. Writing my thoughts down clears my head and gives me new perspective. Collaborating with readers and other bloggers gives me a sense of connection.

6. Work out. The gym is opened and nothing will make you feel more accomplished and happy then a nice workout.

7. Meditation. Set your timer for 10 minutes and just try it. It does wonders for my psyche.

8. Quality time with hubby. Cooking a hearty meal, playing a table game, talking, watching an episode of our favorite show, baking a cake… Anything, together!

After all of that, it is impossible to feel down.

What about you? What are some of the things you do on Sundays that make a difference?

Take advantage of fall Sundays...

Take advantage of fall Sundays…

4 Responses to “Making Peace with Sundays”

  1. Tunnely October 13, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    I use my Sundays to make sure I slow down, usually by a slow walk on a winding path beneath trees and/or along a stream.

    Love your outlook! All the best –

    Like

  2. terraburrah October 13, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    How odd. I used to dread Sundays, too. I considered it the end of a weekend, and the beginning of the work week. My husband used to work out of town – weekends were precious to us.

    My goal has been to “level” all days of the week. Meaning, no favorite days – like Friday. With every “favorite day” there comes a “least favorite day.” (Sundays)

    It’s worked, almost.

    Like

    • Finer Things in Life October 13, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

      Thank a great observation – no favorite days. All days are special if you make them that way 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

