My Morning Routine

2 Jan

January 15th I will be featured on mymorningroutine.com.

I wanted to share my answers to the questions they posed to compose a brief description of my morning routine.

1. What is your morning routine?

My alarm is set for 4AM. I hit a snooze button a few times, and finally I get up around 4:15AM. These early morning hours are mine to do whatever I want with.

2. How long have you stuck with this routine so far?

I have started being a super early riser in July, when I was off from school. Now we are in December, so around 5 months.

3. How has your morning routine changed over recent years?

Over the recent years I went from hating every minute of waking up early to absolutely loving it, and actually looking forward to it every evening. Before I started my “insanely” early wake ups, I will constantly be rushed, and always late. I also had a tendency to break things I the wee hours. I now feel more in control and tremendously enjoy my mornings.

4. What time do you go to sleep?

No later than 9PM.

5. Do you use an alarm to wake you up in the mornings, and if so do you ever hit the snooze button?

Snoose button. Guilty as charged. I am considering putting the alarm clock farther away from my bed.

6. How soon after waking up do you have breakfast, and what do you typically have?

I typically have breakfast within 1 hour of waking.. My signature power breakfast is oatmeal, made with milk, dried cherries, wheat germ, honey, fresh apple, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Warm, hearty, and healthy.

7. Do you have a morning workout routine?

Yes. The first thing I do is go to the gym so that my brain doesn’t have time to debate with me. Usually I stay for about 30 minutes and try to mix it up: one day I do legs, one day-arms, etc.

8. How about morning meditation? I meditate I the evening.
9. Do you see to email first thing in the morning, or leave it until later in the day? Around 1 hour after waking I tend to my email.
10.  How soon do you check your phone in the morning, either for calls/messages or social media and news?

I usually check my phone for messages a short while after waking, while I have coffee.

11. What are your most important tasks in the morning?

Working out, reading for pleasure, blogging, writing my goals for the day, thinking creatively, and reflecting.

12. What and when is your first drink in the morning?

Coffee – right after waking, around 4:15AM

13. On days you’re not settled in your own home, due to travelling or staying with a friend, are you able to adapt any of your routine to fit in with a different environment?

Usually. At least a part of it. If I don’t have a gym, I will work out in the hotel room/friend’s living room. I usually allot some time to write in the morning, so I have my tablet with me.

14. What do you do if you fail to follow your routine, and how does this influence the rest of your day?

Sometimes I oversleep. Things happen so I don’t beat myself up. I understand that sometimes my body and mind gets tired. I just give myself some rest and pick up the next day or next week.

Leave a Reply

