Global Well-being and Happiness Group – Looking for Members

17 Feb

After successfully completing yet another 90 minutes Jam Session (see Darren Hardy productivity tips), an idea popped into my head as I was washing dishes. Mind you, my best ideas come to me either a) in the shower, b) while cleaning, or c) while driving.

My idea is to start a Happiness and Well-being group. I read and listen to so much material on well-being, organization, personal development, goal setting, productivity but, to be honest with you, I feel bad sharing them with my friends… Because it’s a lot. I will be emailing them every day – with links and stories, and videos…

I am afraid they may already be considering me “that” person. You know, “THAT” person. The rare breed that wakes up at 4:30 AM, that eats healthy, exercises, preaches motivation and acceptance, meditates, barely watches TV, reads personal development literature, listens to Success Magazine CDs in her car, watches 2-3 TED lectures a day, always has time for her friends in spite of having a full time job and getting a PhD, and often has a plethora of advice on how to improve your life and grow as a person.

I am afraid to say this… But I have started to look down on my friends, and their petty problems: whining about paying the bills, complaining about the weather, complaining of their job, their loved ones, and their pets… Their inability to see the beauty in everyday life. Their inability (and, sometimes, unwillingness) to change things that make them unhappy.

As I make tremendous progress on my goals, I realize that I feel uncomfortable sharing them with my friends, because, well, they are not making any progress to reach theirs… And it feels like I am almost rubbing it in.

Thus, I am looking for likeminded people to connect with; to share and discuss the new well-being tips and tricks they learned each week or month; to dedicate some time; support, and inspire each other. I am looking for people to hold me accountable, and, in turn, I will be willing to hold you accountable.

You will be a good fit if:

  1. You learn something new every day.
  2. You have high levels of motivation.
  3. You have BIG goals.
  4. You already believe you are living your best life.
  5. You want to be held accountable for your progress.
  6. You will provide support to other members of the group and their goals.
  7. You prioritize your mental, physical, social, and spiritual well-being.
  8. You are driven and committed to continue your transformation toward your best self.
  9. You have a computer, a webcam, a microphone, and Internet connection.

Please respond below if you would like to join.  We will be using Google+ Hangouts for it is completely free. I am foreseeing connecting maybe every two weeks, on a Saturday afternoon, for about 1 hour. Consider that hour invested into you. 

Image

2 Responses to “Global Well-being and Happiness Group – Looking for Members”

  1. LilPhilosopher February 17, 2014 at 5:41 pm #

    I’m in. Your post made me laugh. I started writing because I have all these ideas in my head, and I’ve been forcing many on my roommates. Recently found out that it’s made one of them feel small, and Stupid when I talk to him about improving his life all the time. Oops by bad, it was never my intent to make him feel stupid, but wait you’re now telling me this after 4 years, seems a bit too late don’t you think?
    Like you I’m fascinated by the way people think, and what motivates them. I’m always thinking of ways to have better relationship, be in harmony, and I love reading self-help books. I don’t have a PhD, well not yet anyway. I did do a research paper on “Motivation in the Workplace” for my undergrad, I went to a Bachelor’s program at a Graduate School, so they made us do a Research Paper.
    Again I’m totally in. I’ve decided Life Coaching or Counseling is the best career path for me. I’ve began to put myself on the path to that, although life as thrown a few speed bumps my way, I’m still intent on actualizing my full potential; thought I’d sprinkle some Maslow on it too :-).

    Like

    • Finer Things in Life February 18, 2014 at 6:44 pm #

      That’s so great to hear, thank you for taking the time to comment. I will set the time as to when we can connect, and let you know before hand. In the meantime, perhaps you can spread the word? Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

