Seven Habits of Highly Effective People worksheet

30 Mar

My bedroom is my sanctuary. Every Sunday, I make sure I have at least two hours to dedicate to myself and my mental wellbeing. I sit in my bedroom, with a closed door, and I plan, strategize, review my goals, give thanks, and evaluate the past week.

I have started using Steven Covey’s worksheet. It allows you to see yourself as a person that wears many hats: wife, daughter, teacher, student, friend, etc. and then you set goals for each role. You also schedule activities that benefit your wellbeing, called “sharpening the saw” activities. Such activities include reading, exercise, meditation, calling a friend, volunteering, spending time with your pets, writing, and perhaps even knitting?

I have looked at the past week and saw that I have accomplished SO much. Sometimes we don’t give ourselves enough credit for being productive. Usually I feel like I have not done anything but then I wonder as to why I am so tired at the end of the week… After looking at the past week’s worksheet, it was clear that I have been extremely productive and proactive. It is clear that I have taken care of my mind and my body, in addition to having a full time job, taking doctoral classes and being a good wife and friend.

I am proud of myself and my body and mind. Apart from doing an outstanding job at my full time job, I have had tutoring sessions with a student thus earning extra money to put towards my travel.
Apart from being a diligent doctoral student, I have reached out to our board of education and filed for tuition reimbursement.
In addition, I have spent quality time with my hubby and made sure the house is clean, warm and welcoming.
Apart from all that I did strength training two times, went for a refreshing walk once, and went to two 90 minute hot yoga classes yesterday and today. On Thursday I have gone to SoShimSa for an extended sitting of meditation. Yesterday I have dedicated two full hours to reading my book called NW.

I have also bonded with a friend over lunch and had written a long overdue email to a friend of mine in Switzerland. A and I have watched a film last night and had dinner and talked.

I have just read what I have written and I am amazed at how productive I have been for the past week. In general, I am a very active kind of person, but I have never actually taken into account all the things I do during the week and on a weekend.

I’d like to ask my readers, how do you evaluate your week? Is there a tool you would like to share? Thank you so much!

2 Responses to “Seven Habits of Highly Effective People worksheet”

  1. LilPhilosopher March 30, 2014 at 11:23 pm #

    I have read “Seven Habits…” but I had never done the worksheet. I feel stuck in my life right now. Perhaps the worksheet to bring some perspective on the things I have accomplished, thank you, I’ll take the book down from it’s shelf and dust it off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

