Grey

14 Aug

I have two friends. One is Muslim, another one is Jewish. I am more of a Buddhist.

One of these friends has been heavily involved with the protests for the unfair treatment of people of Gaza. Another one openly supports Israel’s right to defend itself. Yesterday I have received a message from my Muslim friend offering to join her for a demonstration dedicated to Palestine, in Princeton, NJ. I know this is the issue she has been very passionate about and became an activist to raise awareness on the situation.

However, it made me feel very uncomfortable for it made me feel like I had to pick a side, immediately, right there, right now. After thinking about it for half an hour, I responded with a neutral “I am very ignorant when it comes to this particular conflict, all I know that they have been fighting for years now.”

Tomorrow I am having lunch with that friend and feel nervous that she will take some time to “work” me on Palestinian-Israeli conflict. 

I have two friends that are now in two complete opposite camps. I love both of them and want to stay fair.

I want to be grey. I want to stay neutral. I don’t want to support either side. I condemn any violence but I refuse to sway one way or the other.  

What would you do in this case? Have you ever had a situation where you have been in the middle of opposing views? How did you handle it? 

Grey2

 

6 Responses to “Grey”

  1. JF August 14, 2014 at 11:19 am #

    I would learn everything possible about the conflict and came to my OWN conclusion. Then I would support what I believe to be right. Is not it what you need to do in every situation (especially during elections)?

    Like

    • Finer Things in Life August 14, 2014 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you for your insight. Learning everything possible about the conflict is not possible or feasible for me at this point not have I any desire to. Additionally, taking a side will probably mean that I will have to choose between the two friends, not just between one side or the other. Lastly, what I believe is right is NOT to get too involved with either side. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. ifollowislands August 14, 2014 at 11:51 am #

    Very difficult situation indeed. I am and have always been in the middle of arguments between members of my family. I love them, so I listen to their concerns and offer advice. But once they start slagging the other party off or moan and complain I make it very clear that I won’t take a side. And they always end up apologising and stop. So I think you should meet her and if the conversion goes into a direction where you feel uncomfortable or having to pick sides you should definitely say that. A good friend will understand. Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  3. André August 16, 2014 at 9:43 am #

    Not an easy position. Personally I think peace is made out of both sides compromising. The current situation is exacerbated by the 2 sides being in such extreme positions where compromising is not an option. I’m generally a sort of “black & white” person but in this particular case, Grey is the best place to be.

    Like

    • Finer Things in Life August 17, 2014 at 6:14 am #

      Andre, thank you for your insight. I have made it clear to both of my friends (had to) that I will NOT choose either side but will continue being neutral. Both sides can be very convincing with their arguments and even talking about it makes me uncomfortable because I know I don’t know enough on the subject 🙂
      Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

