Increasing Productivity?

6 Sep

I have written my last post on August 22 of this year. And then things started happening… 

I became so busy, so overwhelmed, so on edge. I started my three doctoral classes at Seton Hall and my full time teaching job.

And although I love all of the kids I have this year, we are working with a completely new curriculum and it promises to be a lot of work. But we will make do, as always.

Doctoral classes have been truly terrifying. Policy analysis, faculty personnel and history of higher education – all three classes have been keeping me up and giving me anxiety. But I have been working very hard as well, trying to get ahead with anything possible: outlines, preliminary research, proposals, readings, etc. Getting a doctorate is no joke. 

Otherwise things are very good – apart from me being super busy and having mini breakdowns once in a while… I have been enjoying the house and doing a lot of gardening as well.

Due to the fact that I will be extremely busy this semester (until December 8th), I have come up with a plan to keep myself organized and as productive as possible. For instance, I do not let myself read any fiction – only my textbooks. It may sound sad but these courses are so heavy on reading! 

I knew what I was getting into… It is too late to turn around and I have to keep on going. I have been taken it one day at a time and it seems to work 🙂

I have just finished my weekly reflection AND Steven Covey plan for next week. Here is to a great rest of the weekend and an outstanding next week!

DSCN1808

Me and my good friend Heeni. Housewarming Party, last weekend.

DSCN1788

Me and my friend Teresa. Housewarming party, August 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Increasing Productivity?”

  1. adequatedad September 6, 2014 at 7:10 pm #

    No stranger to a jam-packed and stressful schedule, I wish you the best of luck with the classes atop a full time job!

    Like

    • Finer Things in Life September 7, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by! Please share how you keep your head “straight”? I am looking for best practices 🙂

      Like

      • adequatedad September 7, 2014 at 9:01 pm #

        Mornings. Mornings are my trick to be honest. Every now and then I’ll make it a point to wake up before everyone else and keep a few minutes to myself. Maybe I’ll go for a run, maybe I’ll just sip a cup of coffee. Sleep is always good, and catching up where you can is vital, but occasionally, I’ll be up just before the sun and have a few minutes of peace and silence before things devolve into a whirlwind of family needs, and the demands I face from my jobs. For those few minutes, I won’t look at a calendar, check emails or messages…nothing. You NEED ‘me’ time- even if its just a few minutes here and there. Again, good luck- not only with the schedule, but finding what is right for YOU to balance it all out.

        Like

Leave a Reply

