Autumn

18 Oct

It has been a long time since I have walked around my lovely neighborhood. Since I started my doctoral classes this semester, I have not had ANY time for walks or any other kind of activities for the soul. I admit that my life right now consists of the following three things: my teaching job (which I absolutely love), three doctoral courses (which I also absolutely love), and taking care of the house (wait for it, which I absolutely love).

I have bailed out of our Speak to Me group meeting last night – because of my tremendously complex and huge paper. In reality, there are three papers that are due at the end of the semester: a 10 page essay on the history of American Higher Education, a 10 page literature review on affirmative action policy in college admissions, and (oh God) a 25 page faculty personnel paper… The first one is done. The other two are in progress and I feel like I am in good place with both. But: IT IS SO MUCH WORK!! 🙂

image

An abundance of acorns keeps squirrels happy and busy

This morning I finally carved out time for my morning walk and snapped some pictures of my neighborhood as I was walking. Autumn in New Jersey is the loveliest time of year, I am certain. Such crispness of air, slow rustle of leaves, smell of burning wood, colorful decorations on my neighbors’ houses, acorns crunching under your feet, pumpkins everywhere…

I finished my walk with a hearty bowl of oatmeal with fresh apple, honey, almond milk, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Today’s walk has made me realize yet again how privileged I am. And for that, I am grateful.

image

Very few cars – still early

image

Our street, I love the quietness of it…

image

Black bats on our mailbox 🙂

image

Lovely foliage on neighbor’s front tlawn

image

Ghosts on our property. Don’t worry, they are friendly 🙂

image

Pumpkins and mums – what else do you need? 🙂

image

Leaves, leaves everywhere! The minute you clean them up, it looks like before! 🙂

image

Majestic sequoias on our street

image

The sound of rustling leaves is priceless…

image

Our own “national park” 😉

image

image

Main Avenue – just love the colors!

image

Our neighbor’s awesome decorations. Happy Halloween! 🙂

image

A beautiful Victorian on Main Avenue

image

The combination of fall leaves and blue sky is astounding

image

LOVE their house! 🙂 Haven’t met them yet

image

An old tree stump at the intersection

image

Our backyard looks so different from summer

image

Red berries

image

Hearty, healthy, heavenly oatmeal. perfect for any fall morning

Please share some pictures of your town in the fall, I’d love to check them out! Have a delightful weekend!

Leave a Reply

