Practice What You Preach

19 Oct

As you may know, I work with myself continuously on becoming a better person: more compassionate, accepting, loving, and grateful. I try to consciously spread love around, even if the objects do not display any love towards me (rude drivers, nasty sales people, people knocking o my door to involve me in their religion, etc.). Sometimes I slip into “I just want to let those people know exactly what I think about them!!! [insert angry face here].

This morning, I had an opportunity to practice what I preach (compassion, acceptance, love, and understanding). During my morning walk, I have passed by a neighbor’s house and saw that they have unloaded much of their stuff on the side walk, with intention to throw that stuff out. After looking more closely, I have see a paining that looked quite beautiful, albeit being a bit moldy. At first I just wanted to go ahead and take it but then I decided to knock on the door and ask if it would be ok for me to take it. After knocking a few times, I was ready to walk away thinking no one was home, but then a lady opened the door. I said hi, I’m sorry to bother you, are you throwing that stuff out? I was wondering if I can have this painting. Her first words were “whatever it is, NO”. And she kept repeating – whatever it is, NO… NO. She then proceeded to slam the door. The expression of her face was, to put it mildly, irate and super miserable. I shouted “Have a nice day!” to the closed door and continued walking.

My first thoughts were – what a tremendous level of ASSHOLE-ness!!! But then I have started reasoning with myself. I do not know what happened to her. Perhaps she is losing her house, perhaps she is grieving over someone passing, perhaps she is sick… So, I mentally sent her love, despite her rudeness towards me. I consciously chose to display compassion and acceptance towards that miserable human being. And I am glad I didn’t take that painting – people say that owner’s energy is attached to the objects – so, I wouldn’t want to bring it into my house anyway.

Have you ever had an encounter like this? If yes, how did you go about it? I’d like to hear your thoughts! Have an awesome day 🙂

2f9c1d23c1a6986c07f4e92496bbb184

2 Responses to “Practice What You Preach”

  1. smallchangesforlife October 27, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

    This is one of the harder thinks to do, have compassion and understanding when the other person is completely rude. I have had many encounters with this but I just go about and close my eyes and send the person love and pink light. It always relaxes the situation, and if not the both of us, then at least just me, this helps so I don’t go about my day spreading even more negativity out into our planet.
    Maria

    Like

Leave a Reply

