Christmas Eve Traditions

24 Dec

Holidays are tough for many people, myself including. My family lives overseas and celebrates their own holidays the Russian way and visiting usually during spring and summer months.Most of my friends are American and have families, so they gather with them. But for me, it’s just A and I and his family in Maine. Usually we visit them but this year we had them come here, to NJ. One thing we do have is space!

Even when we spend it in Maine, I still find time for myself. It is so easy to get caught in the craze of the holiday season and completely forget about your needs by being wrapped up in needs of others…

Christmas time is a time for me to reflect. I tend not to fall into a consumer Christmas insanity but try to pass my time in a way that brings me joy. Some activities include writing in my diary, taking long baths, making hair and face masks, and doing my nails. Also, I found that blogging, reading Dickens Ghost stories and other books that have been put on a back burner, calling or texting friends, and just reflecting in general- has proved to be valuable in beating the loneliness blues.. I reflect on the past year, the good, the bad, and the ugly, and weigh in on lessons I have learned and mountains I’ve conquered. I make mind maps. I get rid of things. I donate and re-gift books that made a difference in my life.  I make wishes on Christmas Eve.

What about you? How do you make Christmas YOUR holiday without being stretched too thin?

Leave a Reply

